The Kaleidoscope and the Metronome

Eagle pose. Garudasana. My yoga teacher told me that the mastery of this double edged tongue and body twister will allow me to optimally manage stress.  That if I snag my right foot behind my left knee while my arms are locked in a lover’s embrace so thoroughly that palms are pressed together at eye level (thumbs inward, Emily) then after that if I bend at the waist (straight spine straight spine) and hook my left elbow against my right knee, I will fly.  If I can achieve this pushing pulling equilibrium without poking myself in the inner eye, then, then i will be zen.  15 lessons later, I’ve flown several times, if you count a brief, abrupt downward motion that ends at floor level as flying.

Really, I’m no closer to being zen than i was before this yoga workshop; my hips are just looser, and not necessarily in a good way.

My life is a juxtaposition: I plod along to the tic tac tic tac of my eternal, internal time keeper until, just when I am about to implode from the monotonous white noise, my world explodes in a menagerie of colors and excitement. Sometimes it’s hideous, sometimes it’s beautiful. Recently, it’s been bloody (more about that later.) I’ve learned to ride these waves like i learned to ride that little pink bicycle with the banana seat: the balancing is the easy part, but it’s taken me months and years to learn to steer my way through.

Image

My favorite post-yoga snack is juicy, rejuvenating fruit.  And this time of year, when it is still so dreary, a baked warm peach topped with basil and honeyed yogurt, replenishes my body and my spirit.

2 Ripe Peaches (I’ve used yellow)
4 Large Basil Leaves
1 tbsp Honey
Juice of 1/2 Orange
15g Unsalted Butter
Plain Greek Yogurt, to serve
A Drizzle of Honey

 

Cut the peaches into thick slices. Shred the basil. Melt the butter in a small frying pan over a medium heat. Add the peaches and cook for a few minutes until the pan face of the peach slices are browned slightly. Flip the peach slices and repeat. Add the juice and the honey and turn up the heat a little until the mixture is bubbling and has formed a slight syrup. Stir in the shredded basil and serve with a scoop of yogurt and that drizzle of honey.  Enjoy, and be nurtured.

 

Leave a Reply

