Goals for September

Having seen some serious life-changing accomplishments in August come to fruition, including finally convincing Craig to let me drive his 1965 (1964 & 1/2, if you ask him), Mustang named Sally, going to live theatre in Bozeman to see Mark Twain’s recently discovered opus Is He Dead Yet, buying my first pair of truly grown-up, fancy, shoes, and getting accepted to graduate school (in no particular order of importance), the dawn of September; ie, The Birthday Month, has me tingling with anticipation.  I have set a few goals for myself to keep me grounded and focused as I start out my career as a graduate student.  I expect to have this list checked off by the time the 31st rolls around. 

eat lobster.  It’s true, a woman born in Maine, the Land of the Crustacean, has never consumed one of those bad boys.  The main reason I am so insistent on checking this off my list of to-be-dones is due to the vast amount of butter I will be imbibing in with its succulent flesh.
turn 29. It may seem like a gimme, since whether I want to or not, on September 10th at exactly 4:09 in the afternoon, I will be turning over a new page in the calendar of my life.  However, there were times in my life when I was never quite sure I would make it to Almost 30, so I plan on checking this one off in style. 
get a pedicure. I’ve never been one to give into peer pressure, but somehow, for better or worse, I will be getting the second pedicure of my life next Tuesday, accompanied by drinks at Plonk, and my dear might-as-well-be-sister-in-law.  I am a bit hesitant to accept the challenge of this goal, since my last pedicure was right before I hiked the Grand Canyon, and my newly de-calloused, nubile, pink-toed feet were ill-prepared and are still upset about the massive amounts of blisters and pain that followed. 
start Grad School – it does not bode well for my future that I was extremely relieved to not be starting this last Monday when all the underlings (undergraduates) did.  However, I have taken this last week of freedom to reflect and set up my printer, and I feel like I am now both physically and emotionally ready to rumble.  I already have my first day of school outfit selected, and my path to my first class passes an apple tree, so I will come bearing fruit for my teacher.
Have a wine and cheese party. Tis the season for mulled wine! With my new pedicure, and a hearty supply of clove and orange, I am sure to throw a successful Autumn soiree. Details soon, you’ll probably be invited!
Fall housecleaning – it’s important to have clean floors and bedding, since I’ve got this new pedicure to maintain. 
Enjoy Autumn – last but not least, I plan to thoroughly revel in the changing of the seasons.  I’ve started out strong, with a drive through Gallatin Canyon with my darling and some apple cider.  This morning, I took a walk through a morning so crisp you could practically hear the bacon frying and found so many beautiful maple leaves, which will soon be trampled into my new carpet, but for now are displayed autumnly on my window sill.
forgive my vagabond puppy for eating 2 pairs of shoes and my $150 splint – Aaron says that Moose eats all my sweet stuff, including an entire vintage leather suitcase and any amount of nutritional yeast that I buy, because she loves me, but its small consolation.  This one will be a challenge, I’ll let you know how it goes.  

Thanks for reading, I expect you all to hold me accountable in completing this list. 

p.s. On a more existential note, aspen trees are my favorite tree, not only because of the amazing color change, but because they are so much more than a beautiful tree.  A grove of Aspen is actually one single living organism, having the same root system.  I have heard a grove of aspen compared to a community;  each tree appears to be a separate entity, but they all live as one and nurture each other.  I always mull that over   when thinking about my role in my community.  It’s sometimes easier to feel like I am an island; unaffected by and likewise unaffecting what is going on in my community around me.  But it’s so not true! It’s said that it takes a village to raise a child, but it also takes a village to raise a village.  We all need to work together, to nurture each other and support each other, because damn it, if one aspen tree dies we are all affected because there is less oxygen for us all.  Or something like that.  Hey, just be nice to each other and help each other out, ok? Which brings me to my last goal.

Find somewhere amazing to volunteer.  We all have to do our part to make the world a happier, more beautiful place, and I don’t need to get paid to do it.  If there was a non-profit that took kids out to stomp around in the leaves, that would be ideal, but I’ll take anything working with kids. 

 

Leave a Reply

